Back to Gentoo

Posted: July 12, 2014 in Uncategorized

Back in 2003 I became a gentoo developer. I had been using gentoo prior to that as my Linux distro since it had good amd64 hardware support pretty much out of the gate. I had pieced together an amd64 box and at the time I thought trying out a new Linux distro was a good idea.

Then, I worked really hard on getting ppc64 up and running. At that time, while you could run 64 bit kernels on Power and ppc64 hardware, the user space was pretty much all 32 bit.

Gentoo today in 2014 is still in my opinion a good distro. There are essentially two modes of operation where you either build a package at the time you install it, or you can install from binaries via http://www.sabayon.org/.

As an open source developer I treasure the ability to easily install and test anything from source. Further I very much enjoy the ability to change compilation options for fiddling -O3, -mtune etc options to test out new compilers and see how performance improvements in codegen is coming along. I find it a much better environment than Open Embedded.

For me, I’ve been adding arm64 support to gentoo and this will be my primary focus in my “copious spare time.”

Comments
  1. Alex says:

    Hello fellow Gentoo user 😉

    I too find the ease of adding packages to Gentoo with a few lines of ebuild it’s key strength. In fact as the qemu-aarch64-user stuff was taking shape building the gentoo rootfs was one of my smoke tests. Unfortunately the occasions when it emerge get’s confused by competing dependencies mean I’ve generally kept it off my work machines and just run at home when I can justify the time to fix things up. I suspect a lot of the problems are caused by having a mixed amd/~amd64 setup where I only track the bleeding edge of a few key apps while trying to keep the base nice and stable.

Leave a Reply

